The arrival of the internet

Anonymous is one of the biggest happening on the internet that has impacted the world. Its role is pretty significant.
Anonymous is one of the biggest happening on the internet that has impacted the world. Its role is pretty significant.

The arrival of the internet in my life some 19 years ago, with its extraordinary impact on the lives of people and business trends on a global scale, is a vast story to tell.

It has a life of its own, but one thing is sure, it changed everything with regards to the way I work and the way I communicate.

Called a communicator by my journalist peers, and by some business partners I had in the process of my development into who I am now, I believe the internet should be considered as the biggest invention of all time.

While the internet is a massive invention that has liberated many people from their shackles – whatever shackles they had in their lives – it has also bonded some other people to addiction online.

Like the good old parables, the internet brought the good, and the bad with it. As if in this world of ours, we cannot live without the dark side of things when we finally found the bright side of it.

In the context of the liberating role played by the internet, I will mention the arrival of Anonymous, the group that is fighting for right against wrong – so they say – on the internet, as yet another massive event.

Well, while we are at it, let us turn this post into my listing of the biggest impacts that has happened with the coming of the internet.

In this case, I will list social media as the most disruptive of all mediums on a historical scale. It came with such a force that it is in the process of killing traditional news outlets, newspapers (printed or online) while it has almost definitely destroyed advertising agencies.

It is the number one happening, if you ask me.

To be continued…

 

Leave a Reply

